Bachelor of Construction Management - University of Nairobi | Educartis

4 years
On Campus


Course Overview

The School of Engineering, which was started under the Royal Technical College, has provided quality engineering education since 1956. Students were admitted from the whole of East African region until the demise of the East African Community. The School of Engineering has five Departments:- Department of Electrical and Information Engineering, Department of Civil and Construction Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Department of Environmental and Biosystems Engineering and Department of Geospatial and Space Technology.

The School of Engineering earlier known as Faculty of Engineering up to 2005 having been in existence since 1956 started training Engineering graduates for the award of Bachelor of Science degree of University of London and later transformed into Faculty of Engineering of the University College of Nairobi of the University of East Africa.

It was the only Faculty of Engineering in East Africa until the University of Dar es salam and Makerere developed their own Faculties of Engineering in the 1970s. The School assisted the two new Faculties in developing their programs. The School took an active role during the formation of the Institution of Engineers of Kenya (IEK) with several members of the academic staff holding leadership roles in the IEK to date

The School of Engineering has in the last forty (40) year produced over six thousand (6,000) engineering graduates and many are involved in the infrastructure and socio-economic development nationally and internationally.

The School has assisted on setting and development of academic standard for engineering programmes in conjunction with the Engineers Registration Board while staff in the Department of Geospatial and Space Technology are actively involved in the affairs of the Institution of Surveyors of Kenya and Land Surveyors Board.


Show More

When do I start?

Next available course

School type cp

Interested in this institutions?


Admission Criteria

Applicants must meet the stipulated minimum University of Nairobi General Admission criteria as provided for under statute XIX. Applicants with the following qualifications will be eligible for consideration for admission into the degree programme:KCSE Applicants or Equivalent: Mean Grade C+ with a minimum of grade C+ in the following subject clusters: English or Kiswahili; Mathematics; Physics or Biology or Chemistry, or Biological Sciences; Geography or Accounts or Commerce or Economics, or Building Construction or Drawing and Design or Art and Design.KACE (A Level) Applicants or Equivalent: Two Principal Passes; a minimum principal ‘D’ pass in either Mathematics or Physics and in any one of the following subjects: Economics, Geography, and Chemistry and a credit pass in the English language at KCE level or equivalentDiploma Holders: A minimum KCE Division II or mean grade C in KCSE in addition to a credit pass or equivalent of the Kenya National Examinations Council (KNEC) Diploma or its equivalent in: Building Construction, Architectural Studies, Civil Engineering and Applied Physical Sciences.d). Degree Holders: A holder of a University degree or its equivalent from a recognized University in the following areas: Architecture, Engineering, Design, Economics, Commerce, Quantity Surveying, Building Economics, Land Economics, Planning or any other relevant equivalent degree.​

Course Provider