MSc in Energy Management - University of Nairobi | Educartis

2 years
On Campus


Course Overview

The School of Engineering, which was started under the Royal Technical College, has provided quality engineering education since 1956. Students were admitted from the whole of East African region until the demise of the East African Community. The School of Engineering has five Departments:- Department of Electrical and Information Engineering, Department of Civil and Construction Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering, Department of Environmental and Biosystems Engineering and Department of Geospatial and Space Technology.

The School of Engineering earlier known as Faculty of Engineering up to 2005 having been in existence since 1956 started training Engineering graduates for the award of Bachelor of Science degree of University of London and later transformed into Faculty of Engineering of the University College of Nairobi of the University of East Africa.

It was the only Faculty of Engineering in East Africa until the University of Dar es salam and Makerere developed their own Faculties of Engineering in the 1970s. The School assisted the two new Faculties in developing their programs. The School took an active role during the formation of the Institution of Engineers of Kenya (IEK) with several members of the academic staff holding leadership roles in the IEK to date

The School of Engineering has in the last forty (40) year produced over six thousand (6,000) engineering graduates and many are involved in the infrastructure and socio-economic development nationally and internationally.

The School has assisted on setting and development of academic standard for engineering programmes in conjunction with the Engineers Registration Board while staff in the Department of Geospatial and Space Technology are actively involved in the affairs of the Institution of Surveyors of Kenya and Land Surveyors Board.


Show More

When do I start?

Next available course

School type cp

Interested in this institutions?


Admission Criteria

The common regulations for the Masters degrees at the University of Nairobi shall apply.The minimum requirements for eligibility into Master of Science in Energy management programme are:2.1 Holders of at least an Upper Second honours Bachelor’s degree of the University of Nairobi in any relevant Engineering or Physical sciences discipline.2.2 Holders of a Lower Second honours Bachelor’s degree of the University of Nairobi in any relevant Engineering or Physical sciences discipline and two (2) years of relevant experience.2.3 Holders of at least a Bachelor’s pass degree with Postgraduate diploma in Energy management of the University of Nairobi.2.4 Holders of equivalent qualifications to those specified in (2.1), (2.2), (2.3) and (2.4) above from institutions recognized by the Senate.​​

Course Provider